At the Annual General Meeting, the Board is elected from the membership of the Inner Sydney Regional Council for Social Development Inc. Board members comprise local residents and representatives from community organisations based within the local government areas we service. Since 2016 Inner Sydney Regional Council for Social Development Inc. is trading as Inner Sydney Voice.

For 2022-2023, the elected Board members are:

Chairperson: Peter Connelly

Peter is a known and recognised public policy leader. He recently retired from the Public Service after holding several key roles including Executive Director with NSW Department Premier and Cabinet, Deputy Secretary, NSW Department of Justice, and Executive Director, NSW Department Finance and Service. Peter is committed to social justice and lives his values through his community work. An Inner Sydney local, Peter is also a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia and a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.


Secretary: Jonathan Symonds

Jonathan is Inner Sydney Voice’s Secretary.

Board member: Samuel Beattie

Sam is one of our general board members.

  Board member: Ha Bui

Ha is a strategic communications leader with 10+ years of success spanning marketing and events, developing integrated strategies that help businesses maximise commercial and organisational return, driving improvements in revenue, brand awareness, reach, and reputation. Ha places people at the centre of everything she does. Ha is currently the Marketing and Communications Manager at Reliable, Affordable, Clean Energy for 2030 (RACE for 2030) a Cooperative Research Centre (CRC) for energy and carbon transition.

A local Waterloo resident, Ha is passionate about social justice, and sustainability and is committed to adding value, listening to unique needs, challenges, and requirements. Ha strives to develop solutions that meet the culture, climate, and aspirations of an organisation, brand, or the wider community. By being authentic in her engagement, Ha builds the trust needed to rally stakeholder involvement, secure buy-in, and unite efforts in execution.

Board member: James Harding

Originally from Bath, UK and graduated from Cardiff University with a degree in Business Management. Having spent almost ten years living and working in London in various digital marketing roles, James and his wife decided to pack up and move to Sydney in 2019, currently residing in Balmain East.

James currently works as Head of Digital for Eco Outdoor at their headquarters on Danks Street, Waterloo (5 minutes’ walk from the ISV office). His role is wide ranging but primarily focuses on digital transformation for the business, working with our partners to deliver a best in class customer experience across all of our digital touchpoints.

Outside of the office, James and his wife have a one year old baby daughter (Lotte) who’s keeping them on our toes. When that’s not keeping him busy, James will try and jump on the bike with mates and spend more time in the café than on the road.

  Board member: Kamani Krishnan

Kamani is one of our general board members.

Board member: John Mikelsons

John Mikelsons has significant experience in the community sector and government, having worked for the past two decades in a range of community organisations and government agencies in NSW and QLD. John’s policy, service delivery and advocacy experience is focused on several issues including community services policy, health and health promotion, poverty and youth justice. John also has a PhD in social policy from the University of Queensland and is a Waterloo local.

  Board member: Rob Myers

Robert is an Inner West local who has spent a great part of his career in the customer service within the corporate sector. He has an IT background with expert knowledge of Telecommunications, Infrastructure and Application Software.

He believes that community involvement is central to wellbeing.

He’s passionate about delivering positive outcomes and personal service for his customers.

Board member: Lucy Stewart


Lucy is one of our general board members.